Caldecott Medal Winners

Caldecott Medal

Caldecott Medal Winners

As I find myself looking for summertime reading for our daughter (a.k.a. Excitedly Eight) I am always drawn to Caldecott winners. Even though she is reading chapter books now, who doesn’t love a wonderful picture book?  Some of the best lessons can be learned from them – well, at least I think so!

The Caldecott medal was created to honor and encourage artists creating picture books for children. It is awarded to the artist who creates the most distinguished picture book of the year. This medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.

The medal is named in honor of early nineteenth-century English illustrator, Randolph J. Caldecott.  His children’s illustrations were unique in their humor and ability to create a sense of movement, vitality, and action that beautifully complimented the stories they accompanied.

Thought  you might be interested in seeing the past 10 winners of the Caldecott Award:

2014- Locomotive, written and illustrated by Brian Floca (Atheneum Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing)


2013- This Is Not My Hat, written and illustrated by Jon Klassen (Candlewick Press)

This is Not My Hat- Jon Klassen

2012- A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka (Schwartz & Wade Books, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc.)

A Ball for Daisy- Chris Raschka2011- A Sick Day for Amos McGee, illustrated by Erin E. Stead, written by Philip C. Stead (A Neal Porter Book, published by Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing). We read this a TON when I was sick.

A Sick Day for Amos McGee- Erin E Stead

 2010- The Lion & the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney (Little, Brown & Company)

The Lion and the Mouse- Jerry Pinkney

2009- The House in the Night , illustrated by Beth Krommes, written by Susan Marie Swanson (Houghton Mifflin Company)

The House in the Night- Beth Krommes2008- The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick (Scholastic Press, an imprint of Scholastic)

The Invention of Hugo Cabret- Brian Selznick

2007- Flotsam by David Wiesner (Clarion)


2006- The Hello, Goodbye Window  illustrated by Chris Raschka and written by Norton Juster (Michael di Capua Books/Hyperion Books for Children)


2005- Kitten’s First Full Moon  by Kevin Henkes (Greenwillow Books/HarperCollinsPublishers)

Kittens first full moon

2004- The Man Who Walked Between the Towers by Mordicai Gerstein (Roaring Brook Press/Millbrook Press)

The Man Who Walked Between the Towers




Leave a comment


  1. Carolee Groux says

    Good collection of children's books. I think the illustrations are as good as the written words. I enjoy them just as much. Thanks for sharing several years of Caldecott winners with us.